Skip to content

30 Ice Creams For My 30th Birthday

June 27, 2011

The count down has begun! In less than a month, I will be turning the big 3-0!

I had been trying to think of something fun to do to celebrate the milestone. Since ice cream is my favorite food, I decided that over the next month, I will make 30 flavors of homemade ice cream. On my birthday, we’re going to have homemade pizza and do an ice cream tasting to rate our favorites.

I’m taking suggestions for flavors. My favorite is plain old chocolate and though a little texture is okay, I don’t like too much stuff in my ice cream (Ben and Jerry’s is way too much for me). However, I definitely want to be creative with the flavors I try. Let me know if you have any ideas!

#30 – Raspberry Ice Cream with Dark Chocolate Bits
adapted from David Lebovitz’s vanilla ice cream

  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 5 egg yolks
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups raspberries
  • 1 – 3 to 4 ounce dark chocolate bar

In a medium saucepan, heat the milk, cream, sugar and salt over medium heat until the sugar dissolves. Don’t allow the mixture to boil.

In a medium bowl, beat the egg yolks. Temper the eggs by slowly whisking a small amount of the hot cream mixture into them. Continue to whisk, adding more of the cream.

Once the yolk mixture is warm, whisk it into the cream mixture in the saucepan. Cook the mixture over medium-low heat, stirring constantly, until it thickens enough to coat the back of a spoon. Don’t allow it to boil.

Remove the mixture from the heat and add the vanilla extract. Refrigerate the mixture until it’s completely chilled (several hours or overnight). Meanwhile, use a vegetable peeler to make chocolate shavings from the chocolate bar.

Freeze the ice cream in an ice cream maker. Add the berries and chocolate shavings at the end of the freezing process.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2011 8:43 pm

    Oh this is too fun! What a great way to celebrate 30! I’m not a big fan of chocolate, but this raspberry looks amazing. My suggestion for a flavor is Miss A’s favorite ice cream – Mango. Oh – she also likes pumpkin. :) Congrats and welcome to the dark side. I mean the 30′s. LOL!

    • June 28, 2011 8:52 am

      Do you not like chocolate at all or just chocolate ice cream? Mango is one of my favorites so it’s definitely on the list! Pumpkin spice would be good too. I’m not sure how I feel about joining you on the dark side, haha, but I guess I don’t have a choice :)

  2. Gabriel permalink
    June 27, 2011 9:20 pm

    We will give you our flavors on Thursday!!! This is SO exciting!!!

    • June 28, 2011 8:47 am

      Can’t wait to see you guys…although I am seriously afraid of what you’re going to come up with! :)

  3. Gabriel permalink
    June 27, 2011 9:39 pm

    BTW my parents are DROOLING over your blog! They LOVE it! My dad might even learn some English!! haha Keep up the good work.

    • June 28, 2011 8:48 am

      Haha, thanks! Your dad should make some tea for my blog. That would be sure to make good pictures :)

  4. June 27, 2011 10:36 pm

    oh my, can I come live with you for the next month?

  5. June 28, 2011 8:31 am

    Welcome, almost, to the dark side! This looks great. I’m thinking you have to do something with Grand Mariner or champagne.

    • June 28, 2011 8:46 am

      Ooh, that’s a great idea. I thought of champagne, but not Grand Mariner. Thanks!

  6. Linda Marcum permalink
    June 28, 2011 9:05 am

    Your first recipe looks and sounds amazing. My favorite is cherry flavored ice cream with maraschino cherry chunks and dark chocolate chunks. Makes me want some right now. Enjoy your discoveries and call me if you can’t possibly eat all you make.

    • June 28, 2011 10:02 pm

      Cherry/dark chocolate sounds great. Maybe we’ll have ice cream in class on July 24 :)

  7. June 28, 2011 11:11 am

    This recipe sounds great! I look forward to seeing all the other recipes!

    • June 28, 2011 10:03 pm

      Thanks! I’m excited to share the recipes I have planned!

  8. June 28, 2011 11:31 am

    Your icecream looks amazing! Looking forward to seeing what comes next!

  9. Lisa Davis permalink
    June 28, 2011 4:07 pm

    Yum. I like anything with coffee and/or chocolate!

  10. Rachael permalink
    July 1, 2011 8:00 pm

    I love this idea! Sounds like so much fun:) I just put my ice cream maker in the freezer. I am going to try to make some this weekend!! I can’t wait. You need to post a chocolate recipe! I just tried some at my neighbors apartment , she made mint oreo…mmmmm!

  11. July 3, 2011 9:01 am

    Mmmm, Laura – this is a great way to celebrate! It’s too hard for me to pick just one favorite flavor, but I got the new Jeni’s Splendid ice cream book that came out in June with lots of options. She’s a Midwesterner (love those Midwesterners) and, although I haven’t tested it yet, some of her flavors sound verrrrry tasty!

  12. kara permalink
    July 14, 2011 6:05 pm

    peach. definitely peach.

  13. July 25, 2011 6:00 pm

    Oh my GAWD. This confirms it. I’m getting an ice cream maker. Which brand did you go with?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

