Weekend Destination: Meers, Oklahoma

11 thoughts on “Weekend Destination: Meers, Oklahoma”

  1. My husband and I had a debate for years about using giant jars for drinking ice water. I finally have seen the light–they are awesome on a hot day! Great pics.

    1. Thanks, Rebecca! I normally drink a lot of water when I go out to eat, so it was nice not having to ask for multiple refills. I have been looking for canning jars at the store (for canning) but I can never find them. Did you purchase yours locally?

  2. Your photography class sounds great! I’m sure you’re learning a ton; although I think you already take such amazing photos. I’m always impressed by them. I was telling a friend the other day that I have such a hard time retaining camera technique and technology. I’m normally a fairly fast learner, but for some reason photography is not a subject I can easily pick-up. The info seems to go in one ear and out the other. ;) I love the picture of your driver!

    1. I was fortunate to learn a lot about photography from my grandpa. I’ve also learned a lot by just messing with my camera…and now I’m learning even more in this class. What kind of camera do you have? I think a lot of your pictures are really nice, especially the ones taken with natural light. I try to take mine with natural light as much as possible (especially now that it’s still light out when I get home from work!). I never use flash because I don’t think it looks good. Instead I use a tripod so that I can use slower shutter speeds when I’m inside and I usually keep the aperture open as much as possible to create the sharp foreground and blurred background effect.

  3. I’ve never been to OK, but since my sister moved near Oklahoma City this past fall, & we’ve been planning a trip down to see her and the new gran-baby ever since.
    You’re food pictures tell a story I can’t wait to experience…thanks for the encouragement! It looks fantastic…even the skinny cow, but mostly the cobbler…for sure!

  4. Hi Laura: The burgers look amazing…and we heard from J that they were quite tasty, too. We’re going to visit Dad tomorrow and if you still want some canning jars, let us know, and we’ll look through his storage building.

Leave a Reply

