Skip to content

Slow Cooker Chicken Tacos

April 19, 2011

Tonight I spent almost two hours grinding almonds into almond meal for a flourless orange cake I’m planning to make tomorrow. What was I thinking?!

The good news is that I didn’t have to do much work for tonight’s dinner. I slow cooked the chicken for these chicken tacos so it was very easy to shred and Josue chopped the veggies. We grilled corn tortillas (which I think have a much better flavor than flour tortillas and are also a lot lower in calories) and ended up with a healthy and delicious meal with little effort…unlike the almond meal.

Slower Cooker Chicken Tacos

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 2 tablespoons vinegar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

Place all ingredients in a slower cooker. Place the lid on the slower cooker, turn it on to low and cook for 6-8 hours. Once it’s cooked, shred the chicken two forks. Serve the meat on a tortilla topped with cilantro, tomatoes, avocado, onion, etc. You could use this method for pork or beef tacos as well.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2011 9:38 pm

    Well the orange cake sounds very tempting and I’m sure it will be worth all of the energy. ;) Two hours?! That’s dedication. I like your slow cooker tacos. It would go well with what I think we’re planning from SD tomorrow. :) I think I may make it!

    • April 19, 2011 9:51 pm

      I’ve been thinking about this cake for a couple weeks now, otherwise I never would have spent two hours on the almonds. Even though it’s expensive, I’ll definitely buy the pre-ground almond meal next time! Can’t wait to see what’s on your menu tomorrow :)

  2. April 20, 2011 6:38 am

    OK, YOU ARE nuts! Two hours, really?

    • April 20, 2011 10:51 am

      Hahaha. Normally I would have given up after 10 minutes, but something kept me going… I guess it’s going to be a really good cake!

  3. April 20, 2011 7:37 am

    Those look amazing. I don’t have a slow cooker, bet you’re shocked! But I like to stew chicken in either verde or a red tomato base and do something similar. I can’t wait to see the cake recipe.

    • April 20, 2011 10:50 am

      Thanks :) That is shocking, haha! I don’t use mine a whole lot, but it is nice to have on days like this. I like the idea of cooking the chicken in a sauce. Do you make your own verde sauce?

  4. April 20, 2011 11:07 am

    Oh and if you want I can get it to you anytime, of course.:)

  5. Leah permalink
    April 20, 2011 1:20 pm

    These look so good. I love crock pot cooking, so I’ll be trying them very soon.

  6. April 23, 2011 9:05 am

    Love the idea of chicken – I usually do pork or beef with my tacos.

  7. May 20, 2011 11:29 am

    This looks great!

Trackbacks

  1. How Did We Miss This in South Dakota?! | Eat, Play, Love

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

