Skip to content

Biscuits From My Childhood

March 5, 2011

Cookbooks from my childhood

This morning I woke up thinking about biscuits. Even though Josue loves biscuits, I’ve never made homemade biscuits for him. While I was still in a half-asleep state I resolved that this would be my biscuit-making day.

I decided to try out the recipe my grandma used to make. It’s from her Hollyhocks and Radishes cookbook. My mom had given it to her for her birthday and she recently gave it to me. When I was growing up, it was one of my favorite cookbooks. She could never remember the name so she would call it “Cauliflower and Cabbages.”

When I opened the cookbook I found this note from my mom to my grandma, dated March 1991, just a few months before my mom passed away.

Throughout the cookbook there were notes stuck between the pages, like this one from my little sister. I thought it was cute.

My mom had written notes for my grandma next to her favorite recipes, including the recipe for Mile High Biscuits.

These biscuits are so quick and easy that they take less time to make than the time it takes me to open a biscuit tube from the store. (Opening the tube scares me!)  Josue said he liked them better than the store bought ones too!

Today I had a special helper in the kitchen.

Mile High Biscuits

Yields 12 biscuits

  • 2 cups flour
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 egg
  • 2/3 cup milk

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. In a medium bowl, combine the flour baking powder, sugar, salt. Cut the shortening into the dry ingredients with a pastry cutter, until coarse crumbs are formed. In a small bowl whisk together the milk and the egg. Add the milk mixture to the dry ingredients and mix with a fork, just until the dough follows the fork around the bowl (don’t overmix). Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and knead gently 5 or 7 times. Pat the dough out until it’s about 3/4 inch thick. Cut out biscuits with a biscuit cutter and place them onto an ungreased baking sheet. Bake 10-12 minutes, until the biscuits are golden.

Come back tomorrow to see what I did with these delicious homemade biscuits!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2011 4:47 pm

    Thank you for sharing this recipe. You have a lovely blog!

  2. Deborah Astley permalink
    March 5, 2011 5:25 pm

    Printed off the recipe and will try tomorrow morning. Sounds simple and good.

  3. Novell J. Wilson permalink
    March 5, 2011 6:23 pm

    I have never seen a biscuit recipe with an egg.
    Try Bobby Flay’s Black Pepper Biscuits recipe from the Food Network sometime; I suggest omitting the pepper if eating for breakfast.

  4. Mikel permalink
    March 5, 2011 6:44 pm

    Love homemade biscuits! My favorite food group.

  5. March 6, 2011 6:33 pm

    You’ve inspired me to make these for my husband. He’s a big fan of biscuits as well. Might be a nice surprise for a weekend breakfast next week! (I love the personal notes throughout the cookbook too!)

    • March 7, 2011 7:02 pm

      Thanks :) I hope he likes them!

      • March 8, 2011 10:27 pm

        I’ll let you know how it goes. By the way, I love the picture of your special helper! Miss A has the same jammies! Too cute!

      • March 9, 2011 9:39 pm

        Aww cute!

  6. June 14, 2011 11:47 pm

    Hi laura..I just found your blog through ChefMom and I love it!
    those biscuits look amazing and I love your little helper..super cute

Trackbacks

  1. Three Things I’m Grateful for: Cheddar, Garlic and Butter | Eat, Play, Love

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 993 other followers

